We will meet the winners at the KIELCE BIKE-EXPO gala ceremony


The idea to develop the Cyclists-Friendly Commune dates back to 2012; this is when the Polish Tourist and Sightseeing Association announced the Year of Bicycle Tourism. The competition is designed to gather and disseminate information about the municipalities which take into account the needs of cyclists in their plans and activities as well as promote active pass-time with the use of bicycles.  Local authorities create cycling infrastructure, organise cycling events and activities and become more and more friendly for cyclists.  They also issue bicycle guides or maps.

The competition results and the presentation of certificates for the best municipalities takes place during Kielce Bike-Expo - Poland's largest bicycle expo. The winners, in addition to the certificates and distinctions for the Cyclists-Friendly Commune also receive valuable prizes for municipalities. These have been sponsored by the campaign partners.  These are the prizes for the winning communes.  An electric bicycle from TrybEco - this company’s bikes have  underrgone a great  endurance test  in the extremely cold conditions (!), and bike repair station from Ibombo  - such appliances can be found in the farthest corners of the world, such as the highest passable pass in the world Khardung La (5364 m above sea level) in India.  Many Polish cities also have such stations.

For the third time, the municipalities that have already received three certificates may apply for the Grand Prix. The highest competition distinction has been awarded since 2016. All laureates receive an invitation and therefore the opportunity to present themselves at the PTTK expo stand. The Biking through Poland booth is a part of the  KIELCE BIKE-EXPO. Winners are therefore offered free of charge promotion for the whole duration of the trade fair. The awards list includes also panoramic presentations of the laureate-communes.  Created in a 3D format, they present tourist attractions. This proze is sponsored by the Association of Polish Poviats. 

Detailed information about the competition can be found on the website   find the Cyclists-Friendly Commune 2018 tab.

Until now the competition fellowship has included such municipalities as:  Józefów, Piotrków Trybunalski, Malbork, Leszno, Tczew, Białystok, Murowana Goślina, Kołobrzeg, Kościan, Szklarska Poręba and Kruszwica.  The is a high-prestige competition owing to the Jury Panel composed of representatives of the Ministry of Sport and Tourism, the Polish Tourist Organization, the Association of Polish Poviats and PTTK - the organizer of the competition.

The competition is supported by:  The titular patron of the competition - TrybEco, Ibombo

Honorary Auspices of:   Ministry of Sport and Tourism, Polish Tourist Organization, Union of Rural Communes of the Republic of Poland, Association of Polish Poviats, Association of Polish Cities

Media patrons: the "Rowertour" monthly, "bikeBoard" monthly, "Wspólnota - a letter from local self-government" magazine and the monitorurzę portal.

Text after Tomasz Czeleń,


Recommended news

Upcoming events

19-21 September 2019
27-28 September 2019
30 November - 1 December 2019
30 November - 1 December 2019
30 November - 1 December 2019
30 November - 1 December 2019
25-26 January 2020